Suffolk Sports Awards 2016

Suffolk Sports Awards 2016

Hundreds of guests lined the red carpet at the 11th Suffolk Sports Awards at Trinity Park showcasing a fantastic year in sport in Suffolk.

The event also celebrated successful collaborative projects across the county; Be Inspired - Increasing Employability, Fit Villages - Empowering Local Communities, Lowestoft O-go-go - Investing in Suffolk, Sportivate - Providing High Quality Opportunities, Stand Tall - Reducing Health Inequalities and the Workplace Games - Supporting Economic Growth.

The quality of nominations this year made judging the nominations a difficult task to pick winning athletes, individuals, clubs, coaches and schools. This demonstrates the wealth of regional talent and the number of people who work tirelessly behind the scenes, nurturing talent and providing vital support for local communities.

2016 Winners

Shortlisted Nominees

The Harrod UK Sports Personality of the Year Award
Callum Wilkinson – Race Walking
Chris Walker-Hebborn - Swimming
Zoe Newson - Powerlifting

The Archant UK Young Sports Personality of the Year Award
Bailey Flemming - Football
Blake Hoang - Badminton
Kylie Bilchev - Tennis

The BBC Radio Suffolk Unsung Hero Award
Brian Boardley - Athletics
Sheelagh Watts - Tennis
Tony Wright - Cricket

The Suffolk Topcoach Academy Coach of the Year Award
Emily Ison - Squash
Mick Graham - Athletics
Mike McNeill - Athletics
Nick Drane - Basketball

The South Suffolk Leisure Club of the Year Award
Ipswich Harriers Athletics Club - Athletics
Jetts Netball Club - Netball
Waveney Valley Athletic Club - Athletics

The Abbeycroft Leisure School of Sporting Excellence & Participation of the Year Award
Albert Pye Primary School
Exning Primary School
Farlingaye High School