Suffolk Sports Awards 2018

Suffolk Sports Awards 2018

The Suffolk Sports Awards celebrates sporting talent across Suffolk and recognises those who work tirelessly behind the scenes for the love of their sport.

The 2018 prize- giving ceremony took place on Friday 16th November at Milsoms Kesgrave Hall following a drinks and canape reception and a number of individuals and groups were honoured for their sporting achievements during the last year. Over 200 guests attended from clubs, schools, local authorities, charities and other organisations.

The Suffolk Sports Awards were delivered in collaboration with Harrod Sport, the UK's leading manufacturer of football goal posts, hockey goals, tennis posts and general sports ground equipment. The event was also supported by BBC Radio Suffolk, with presenters Stephen Foster and Graeme McLoughlin hosting the event.

A total of 10 awards were presented on the night, including two special industry-voted awards: the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Elena Baltacha Award.

The results of the Suffolk Sports Awards 2018 were as follows:

Harrod Sport Sports Personality of the Year Award
Winner: Jasmin Taylor (Telemark Skiing)
Runners up: Harriet Welham (Basketball), Zoe Newson (Weightlifting and Para-Powerlifting)

• Places Leisure Young Sports Personality of the Year Award
Winner: Drew Kemp (Speedway)
Runners up: Esther Little (Basketball), Ruby Hunt (Karate)

BBC Radio Suffolk Unsung Hero Award
Winner: Nicki Weller (Trampolining)
Runners up: Tony Adams (Football), Shaun Platten (Football)

• Abbeycroft Leisure Club of the Year Award
Winner: Kesgrave Kruisers (Running)
Runners up: Bury Bicycle Collective (Cycling), Ipswich Basketball Club (Basketball)

• The Hub: Sport Science at the University of Suffolk Coach of the Year Award
Winner: Nick Drane (Basketball)
Runners up: Gareth Carr (Rugby), Hayley Rigby (Basketball)

• Suffolk Coastal and Waveney District Councils Team of the Year Award
Winner: Ipswich Basketball Senior Women's Team (Basketball)
Runners up: Mildenhall Fen Tigers (Speedway), Suffolk LTA Men's Summer County Cup Team (Tennis)

• Abbeycroft Leisure Primary School of the Year
Winner: Sidegate Primary School
Runners up: Morland Church of England Primary School, East Bergholt CEVC Primary School

• Ipswich Borough Council Secondary School of the Year
Winner: Copleston High School
Runners up: Kesgrave High School, Farlingaye High School

• Active Waveney and Sentinel Leisure Lifetime Achievement Award
Winner: Bill Tancred MBE

• Elena Baltacha Award
Winner: Anna Street